Great Graphic Novels 2015 Noms: Manga Part One

by Tessa

Read about why I’m reading these here.

seraph1

seraph2

Seraph of the End: Vampire Reign., Vol.1

Seraph of the End: Vampire Reign., Vol.2

Takaya Kagami, writer

Yamato Yamamoto, artist

Viz Media

Anticipation/Expectation Level: Wary about vampires.

My Reality: I liked it! This is a vampire dystopia, and a revenge drama. It starts out with some orphans that are used as food for the vampires in their underground world, after they’ve exploited a plague situation on earth and driven everyone underground and into their control. The children have a plan to defeat the vampires and escape, and it goes horribly wrong. The only survivor is the kid with too much energy and not enough planning. And I won’t spoil the rest.

I can’t speak much to the art because I only can articulate different styles in manga when they are obviously different. I could follow everything and everyone looked very elegant. The style preferred by the vampires is very gothic lolita and there’s a police type squad who have handsome almost American Civil War style uniforms.

Will teens like it?: I think even teens who are tired of vampires (there must be some, right?) will enjoy this. It has a lot of juicy drama and funny parts.

Is it “great” for teens?: Yes.

Art Taste:

 

Seraph-of-the-End-01-01

 

 

mylittlemonster3     mylittlemonster4

My Little Monster, Volume 3

My Little Monster, Volume 4

Robico

Kodansha Comics

Anticipation/Expectation Level: Considering that there were Volumes 1 and 2 also published this year, I thought it was strange that only volumes 3 and 4 are nominated. I read the first two volumes and felt uncomfortable with Haru’s lack of respect for personal boundaries – I realize that in some shojo romances this is normal, and this follows the pattern of single-minded or innocent girl gains weird friend and they help socialize each other. However, it was also textbook manipulation of personal boundaries – Haru is very needy and has an anxious attachment style. He doesn’t care that Shizuku needs to study or what her preferences are. His motivations get clearer in the 2nd volume but I didn’t look forward to reading up to 4 volumes.

My Reality: I think that one could enter this series at the 3rd book and it wouldn’t be that weird, but one would miss all the introductions to the characters. Eventually no one treats Haru’s behavior as romantic and that made me feel better. This is a series about a group of friends coming together, a story that is, understandably, done often in manga. My Little Monster is a solid example of the genre, but doesn’t offer much new.

Will teens like it?: Sure

Is it “great” for teens?: They’ll like it, but it isn’t great.

Art Taste:

mylittlemonster

beforethefall1   beforethefall2

Attack on Titan: Before the Fall, V1

Attack on Titan: Before the Fall, V2

Ryo Suzukaze, writer

Satoshi Shiki, artist

Kodansha

Anticipation/Expectation Level: I was so psyched when I first read Attack on Titan.

My Reality: The premise failed for me. I could not accept that anyone would believe that a baby who is born when an obviously pregnant mother is swallowed by a Titan is in any way a Titan itself. Even the mom did worship Titans.

Will teens like it?: Probably?

Is it “great” for teens?: This one will be read because of the popularity of the original series. It is not great.

Art Taste:

attack-on-titan-before-the-fall-4676225

Comments are closed.
