Upcoming Film Adaptations of Young Adult Books

A List of My Top 10 Most Anticipated YA Book To Film Adaptations!

Ender's Game

by REBECCA, July 16, 2013

This weekend, I was at my dear friend E—’s wedding with some of my all-time favorite people with whom to discuss books, movies, and YA. That reminded me of how excited I am to see what messes/successes come from the upcoming SLEW of YA books that are being adapted for the big screen. So, here is a list of the top 10 adaptations I’m most looking forward to!

Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card Ender's Game

1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Probably the most anticipated science fiction film adaptation of the year, there’s been a lot of controversy over this one. Ender’s Game is one of my favorite books of all time, but Orson Scott Card is an ultraconservative outspoken homophobe, so many sci fi fans want to boycott the movie to avoid lining Card’s pockets. This is definitely one to check out before the movie drops, November 1st.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

I liked the first in the Divergent series, but the prose was weak and I thought the world-building was a bit spotty, so I wonder if the movie won’t actually be able to smooth over those things. The film is coming out March 21, 2014.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

3. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, both of whom will star in Divergent, will also star in The Fault In Our Stars. Check out Tessa’s review of John Green’s wonderful novel HERE. The film is coming in 2014.

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan The Forest of Hands and Teeth

4. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

I really enjoyed this creepy zombie plague story and cannot wait to see it on the big screen. It’s a slow-moving story, but super atmospheric, so I think it has the potential to be awesome.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

5. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze Runner follows a group of boys who wake up in a maze with no memory of how they got there or how to get out. I just watched MTV’s Teen Wolf (which was actually much better than I anticipated), and The Maze Runner movie stars Dylan O’Brien, the best character in Teen Wolf. The movie comes out February 14, 2014.

City of Bones The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments

6. City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare

This one’s coming really soon—August 22; get ready! Oh, City of Bones, you turned crazy after a while, but I’m still so excited to see you, especially in the company of Lily Collins’ perfect eyebrows. And with Jonathan Rhys Meyers as the villain, how could things go wrong . . . ?

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

7. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Omigod, you guys, this is only in development, but IT IS HAPPENING! In the meantime, though, you can check out my dream for an amusement park ride based on Uglies HERE.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I loved Gayle Forman’s beautiful story of a girl fighting her way back from a coma after the accident that killed her family. I’m curious to see how they’ll do it as a movie, since so much of it is in the character’s head. Chloe Moretz is slated to star—let’s hope she pulls it off. She is also going to play Carrie in the upcoming remake of Carrie.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

9. The Graveyard Book and The Ocean At the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

I love Neil Gaiman, but The Graveyard Book wasn’t one of my favorites of his. I think a movie of it could be wonderful, though. Everything that made it kind of a slow, diffuse read could make for a dynamite movie. Ron Howard is directing, so it might be ok, or it might be sentimental tripe. The Ocean At the End of the Lane, however, is an absolutely stunning book that I worry will make a crap movie.

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

10. Maggie Stiefvater’s EVERYTHING!

I could not possibly be more excited! Both The Scorpio Races and The Raven Boys have been optioned and are in production. Gah! Shiver was in production but, according to Maggie Stiefvater’s website, she and the filmmakers had creative differences, so it’s not going forward right now, but maybe in the future. People: murderous water horses. IN A MOVIE!

Anyhoo, there are a staggering number of YAdaptations in the works! Which ones are you looking forward to? Tell me in the comments!

17 Comments

  1. I wasn’t that into Forest of Hands and Teeth, but I think I might like it better as a movie!

  2. Wait, FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH is gonna be a movie?? Way cool!

    We’re definitely looking forward to If I Stay and TFIOS, and holysmokespleaseuniverse give us a SCORPIO RACES and/or RAVEN BOYS movie!!!!

  3. I want to watch them all RIGHT NOW!

  4. Margalit

     /  July 15, 2013

    Despite Card’s despicable politics, I’m really looking forward to “Ender’s Game.” Would waiting until it’s streaming on Netflix put fewer dollars in his pocket? Probably not. Also excited about “The Scorpio Races”! “The Forest of Hands and Teeth” is one of the best titles ever.

  5. Lots of fun stuff! I still want to see Tiger Eyes, once I figure out how to stream it. And a friend just posted a link to a trailer of Ways to Live Forever, which I haven’t read, but the movie’s already getting great press.

    • Oh, yes, I totally forgot about Tiger Eyes—I loved that book as a kid!

    • Thanks for giving our film Tiger Eyes a shoutout. It is now available via iTunes, Amazon Instant, Youtube Movie Rental and all major cable Video OnDemand channels. It is also in limited theatrical release with screenings in NJ, AR, AZ, DE and WA coming soon.This is for US residents only, but we’re working on the international release. Visit our website http://www.tigereyesmovie.com to find out all the screening options. Thanks again!

  6. A

     /  July 15, 2013

    Holy cow, I am excited for these. Thanks R!!

  1. Upcoming Film Adaptations of Young Adult Books ...
  2. Upcoming Film Adaptations of Young Adult Books ...
