Movie Review: Warm Bodies

A Review of Warm Bodies, directed by Jonathan Levine

Warm Bodiesby REBECCA, March 3, 2013

If you’ve been reading C&M the last week, you know that Tessa and I are in Edinburgh (yay!). Well, when we arrived here Thursday morning, we decided that although we’d both been awake since Wednesday morning, we didn’t want to nap and screw up our internal clocks, so we just shot some espresso and went about our business: tramping through cemeteries, swooning over the alternate UK covers of YA novels (Patrick Ness!), and after some cake, going to see Warm Bodies.

And I give you that intro in order to warn you that this is the review of a person who watched this movie in an altered state—as my mother used to tell me in college, driving while sleep deprived is like driving drunk. If that’s true, then I was definitely sleep-wasted when Tessa and I saw Warm Bodies. Still, I have to say that I don’t think my opinion of it would have been much different had I been in my right mind. That said, then, I have only three things to say about Warm Bodies.

Isaac Marion Warm Bodies1. It was dumb but mildly charming and entertaining. Now, I didn’t read Isaac Marion’s book, so I can’t comment on how it translated, but it was definitely not a complex or thought-provoking concept. But, still, Nicholas Hoult is charming as R and I guess there are moments that are sweet. It has been pointed out to me (thanks, T!) that Marion has said that he didn’t want Warm Bodies shelved in the YA section, because he thinks it’s potentially limiting to the book’s audience. No idea, since I didn’t read it, but the movie is absolutely, positively YA, even though it has John Malkovich.

2. Here’s Tessa’s take: “Much like Human Centipede, it was medically impossible, but much like Human Centipede, I didn’t mind suspending my disbelief. It was so ridiculous, I just didn’t have a choice.”

3. I don’t know who this Teresa Palmer person is, but in Warm Bodies, at least, she is the CLONE OF KRISTEN STEWART. I MEAN, HER CLONE! Like, she looks like her (even though her features don’t, really) and sounds like her (even though she’s Australian—good accent, p.s.), and even has her intonation. It was like they put out a casting ad that said “hot young thing wanted; must be Kristen Stewart-y.” Also, once Nicholas Hoult loses his zombie makeup, he and Teresa Palmer look uncannily similar. It was like Nicholas Hoult making out with a blonde Kristen Stewart who was also his own twin. In a pool. While John Malkovich watched.

Teresa Palmer  Kristen Stewart

And really, that is ALL I have to say on the matter. Although I definitely micro-slept at times, I sure didn’t miss anything.

What did you think? Am I crazy about this Kristen Stewart thing? Tell me in the comments.

 

6 Comments

  1. Chris

     /  July 26, 2015

    uhm.. no.. I’ve seen more photos and they have nothing alike.. different noses, different eyes (both colors and shapes), different lips, chin, face shape, teeth… nothing alike… I’ve seen the movie btw.. it was ok.

  2. Margalit

     /  March 4, 2013

    I’ve been a Nicholas Hoult fan since “About A Boy.” Not enough to see this one, but I suppose I’d happily see *any* movie, if I could see it in Edinburgh!

  3. weheartya

     /  March 4, 2013

    LOL! We never thought about the resemblance, but definitely those two pics side by side prove it to a degree.

    Well, we’re glad to hear the movie was fun, if nothing else. Really, that’s all we need/expect out of it.

  4. Lynn M

     /  March 3, 2013

    I didn’t get a K-Stew vibe at all, but now that you mention it, they do look a bit a like. At this point in time, I like Teresa Palmer a lot better. As for the movie, I enjoyed it as a bit of mind candy. Yes, the premise is implausible but given that zombies as a whole are implausible, I can easily suspend disbelief. I thought Nicholas Hoult was very charming and see a future for him as a teen heart-throb because if he can look that cute as a zombie, he’s got something. I didn’t read the book but my daughter did and said that the liberties they took weren’t too off-putting.

  5. I thought the same thing on them looking alike. I didn’t care for the movie, mainly because it was referred to me by a zombie movie enthusiast so my expectations were high. I mean ‘R’ and Julie? Cmon!

  6. I can kind of see the resemblance, and I bet with all the other aspects you mentioned it would be a lot more striking. I’m not a big para-normal romance fan, and the ‘John Malkovich was watching them make out’ comment has made it less likely I’ll be watching this. Go Aussie lead actor though! ^^

